33rd annual Ring 8 Holiday Event & Awards Ceremony another KO event





Ring 8’s 2019 award winners (photo by Stan Janousek)


NEW YORK (December 10, 2019) – The 33rd annual Ring 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony was held this past Sunday at Russo’s On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York. There were 354 attendees.

The New York State Boxing Hall of Fame, sponsored by Ring 8, announced its Class of 2020 (see below)

Headlining Ring 8’s 2019 Awards Ceremony were Fighter of the Decade, Amanda “Real Deal” Serrano (37-1-1, 27 KOs), of Brooklyn by way of Puerto Rico; undefeated heavyweight contender (Fighter of the Year) Adam “Babyface” Kownacki (20-0, 15 KOs), of Brooklyn by way of Poland; Legend Award winners three-time, three-division world champion Iran “The Blade” Barkley (43-19,1 27 KOs), of Bronx, and two-time, two-division world champion Junior “Poison” Jones (50-6, 28 KOs), of Brooklyn; and two-time world heavyweight champion “Terrible” Tim Witherspoon (55-13-1, 28 KOs), of Philadelphia, the Muhammad Ali Humanitarian Award winner.

Below is a complete list of the 2019 award winners:

2019 RING 8 Award Winners

Fighter of the Decade: Amanda Serrano

Fighter of the Year: Adam Kownacki

Legends Award: Iran Barkley & Junior Jones,

Muhammad Ali Humanitarian: Tim Witherspoon

Sam Kellerman Media Award: Gerry Cooney & Randy Gordon

Long & Meritorious Service: Daryl Peoples

Uncrowned Champion: John Capobianco

Prospect of the Year: Left “2 Gunz” Gonzalez

Member of the Year: James Monteverde

NYS Official of the Year: Waleska Roldan

Trainer of the Year: Scott Lopeck

Manager of the Year: Keith Connolly

Community Service Award: Michael Corleone

Amateur of the Year: Nisa Rodriguez

Amateur Official of the Year: Michael “Biggie” O’Conner

Good Guy Award: Peter Frutkoff

Twenty-eight new NYSBHOF inductees were announced (see below):



(living)                                            (deceased)

Jorge Ahumada                   Soldier Bartfield

Alfredo Escalera                  Steve Belloise

Freddie Liberatore             Jimmy Goodrich                                          

Dennis Milton                       Tami Mauriello

Lou Savarese                        Davey Moore

Merqui Sosa                          Freddie Welsh



Don Ackerman                  Lester Bromberg

Bobby Cassidy Jr.              Dan Daniel   

Rick Glaser                           Bobby Gleason

Jack Hirsch                           Flash Gordon

Max Kellerman                      A.J. Liebling

Dr. William Latham            Tony Mazzarella

Julie Lederman                     Dan Morgan

Ron Lipton                              Kevin Rooney

The seventh annual New York State Boxing Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held, Sunday, April 19, 2020, at Russo’s on The Bay.


Bob Trieger, Full Court PRESS, 978.590.0470, bobtfcp@hotmail.com, @FightPublicist


ABOUT RING 8: Formed in 1954 by an ex-prizefighter, Jack Grebelsky, Ring 8 became the eighth subsidiary of what was then known as the National Veteran Boxers Association – hence, RING 8 – and today the organization’s motto remains: Boxers Helping Boxers.

RING 8 is fully committed to supporting less fortunate people in the boxing community who may require assistance in terms of paying rent, medical expenses, or whatever justifiable need.

Go on line to www.Ring8ny.com for more information about RING 8, the largest group of its kind in the United States with more than 350 members. Annual membership dues is only $30.00 and each member is entitled to a buffet dinner at RING 8 monthly meetings, excluding July and August. All active boxers, amateur and professional, are entitled to a complimentary RING 8 yearly membership. Guests of Ring 8 members are welcome at a cost of only $7.00 per person